Doula Ayda, Our Mama Bear

We’ve been getting to know our Rock the Cradle Doulas more in our series of 50 Random Things posts. Now it’s Ayda‘s turn!

  1. I’m 44 years old.
  2. I’m a shy extrovert.
  3. I’m usually serious unless I’m around my two sisters who make me laugh so hard until I feel like peeing my pants.
  4. My parents had three boys and three girls. I’m #5.
  5. Mangoes, figs, guava and cane sugar are my favourite fruits.
  6. My mom was a midwife and so was her mom. So, birth runs in my blood!
  7. My sisters and I used to pretend that one of us was giving birth and the other two were helping her.
  8. I was born at home near the sea.
  9. l love being near the ocean to hear the waves and smell the saltiness of it.
  10. I almost drowned when I was seven and didn’t get over my fear of the water until my late teens.
  11. I’ve been inside the pyramids of Giza.
  12. I’m fascinated by alternative medicine.
  13. My bookshelves are filled with books about herbs, homeopathy and natural remedies.
  14. I’ve done trainings in aromatherapy, homeopathy and herbalism.
  15. I speak three languages fluently and get by with a fourth.
  16. Languages interested me from a young age and I used to do my classmates’ English homework in exchange for them doing my Home Economics projects.
  17. I’ve never camped in a tent. Give me a cabin with running water anytime!
  18. I’d love to take a train ride across Canada, stopping at different cities in different provinces.
  19. I knit as a hobby.
  20. You can often find me in a comfy chair reading historical fiction and birth books.
  21. I read through my mom’s medical books (without understanding much) when I was nine.
  22. I’ve lived on three continents.
  23. I love to travel.
  24. My favourite season growing up was Fall, as it was the time of olive harvesting.
  25. I loved climbing trees when little.
  26. We had a jasmine and a lemon tree in our backyard; I miss their smell in the evening breeze.
  27. I moved to Canada when I was 14.
  28. Gardening is one of the hobbies I enjoy the most.
  29. I’m punctual.
  30. I have been married for 20 years.
  31. I have been to Hawaii.
  32. My Bachelor’s Degree is in Education.
  33. I have four children ages 18, 16, 14, and 8.
  34. I homeschool my kids.
  35. I’m known as Mama Bear.
  36. Despite my distaste for my Home Economics classes growing up, I love cooking & baking.
  37. I have been a Doula for 13 years.
  38. My first birth was supporting a 19-year-old mother. She was birthing on hands & knees in the hospital. The doctor was on her way, so the nurse and I caught the baby!
  39. The longest birth I’ve attended was 36 hours.
  40. The shortest was three hours.
  41. I have yet to attend a home birth in all my years as a Doula!
  42. My first job as a teenager was to sell Gazette subscriptions by phone. That didn’t last long!
  43. I’ve never learned to skate or ski… winter can be very long!
  44. My favourite board game as a child was Monopoly. It’s my daughter’s favourite as well.
  45. Our favourite family shows are Little House on the Prairie, Road to Avonlea & Anne of Green Gables.
  46. Growing up, I really liked the actor Omar El Sharif. I was happy to find out he played in some English movies.
  47. I’m spontaneous.
  48. What I say all the time, according to my hubby: I told you so!
  49. My preferred sport: soccer (football for us Middle Eastern folk!)
  50. I love nature hikes.

What did you find most surprising about Ayda? Do you have anything in common with her? Let us know in the comments below.

If you’d like to have Ayda’s support during your birth, or would like to chat with her and see if you’re a good fit, you can book a time to chat at We’d love to hear from you!